Itchy Scalp! UGH

Image

Okay, so your hair is itchy. All you do is itch, itch, itch and it doesn’t stop. If you have weave you’ve probably killed a lot of brain cells from all the patting. Now, there are so many reason why your scalp is itchy but please rub instead of itch, you’re hurting your scalp and ripping out hair by scratching.

Back to reasons

  1. Your hair might be too tight. This is the main culprit in my eyes. Don’t let people tell you that itchy hair means it is growing (what kind of stupidness?!). Your hair is itchy, uncomfortable and it is not meant to be.
  2. Itchy scalp means your hair is unhealthy (especially the scalp). Your hair might look and feel great but face it, your scalp feels like it is on fire and healthy scalps do not itch. In order to eliminate the itch you need to restore your hair back to its healthy state.
  3. Its acidic state. Your scalp is naturally acidic and has a pH level of 4.5-5.5. An itchy scalp means your hair is getting more neutral or alkaline than acid. This can be cause by the products you use or product build up.
  4. Stress, obesity, sunburn can all contribute to your scalp being on fire.

Now my hair was itchy and I thought maybe my braids were too tight, maybe it was the way it was sewn or the weave itself. So i washed the weave and nothing changed. I had only just got my hair done but my mum beggggggggggged me to take it out because everyone at home was sick and tired of the patting.

I finally took it out and treated my hair however, it was still itchy! So i did some research on solutions for an itchy scalp.

  1. Aloe vera soothes any burning sensations that you might feel on your head.Naturally emollient and calming, it is a great balm for the scalp that will also soften the hair and feed your roots.
  2. Coconut oil , is apparently very effective with a few drops of tea tree oil. Tea tree oil is a triple threat to scalp irritations because of its anti-fungal, anti-viral and anti-bacterial properties. Again, Tea Tree Oil should not be used full strength and is best when used with a carrier oil which is in this case coconut oil.
  3. Apple Cider Vinegar. This is when you rinse hair with the vinegar.   Use one part water and one part vinegar and massage it into the scalp.   Leave on fifteen minutes and then rinse out. This should return your scalp to its acidic state.

Now, I tried one and two. I thought maybe my hair wasn’t moisturised so I moisturized some more with coconut oil. I used my leave in mix with aloe  vera but it felt like someone massaged pepper on my scalp. Then I remembered that not all shampoos wash hair probably and maybe I needed to strip my hair of everything ( I hadn’t done that in a while) using my Giovanni Triple threat shampoo along with the conditioner and leave in that it recommends.

The shampoo is for all hair types, increases scalp circulation for a refreshed, renewed feel, strengthens hair with a three-organic-all-blend to stimulate, condition and calms while alleviating dry, flaking scalp with organic tea tree botanicals. It also encourages natural shine and resilience and looks a little something like this:

This worked for me! I have probably only touched my hair 5 times tonight compared to thousands time that I did the night before. I would recommend using this once every 4-6 weeks depending on what you do to your hair. It does not cost much (fiver from eBay) and is definitely a staple product.

I went ahead to moisturise and seal as usual and tonight I will sleep in peace!

Now remember that everyone is different so these might not be the causes of or solutions to  your itchy scalp. If is a situation where you cannot stop and you have a sore and bumpy scalp please visit your GP.

(I haven’t been blogging lately because of EXAMS (ughhhhh) but I am back so if there is anything you want me to blog about let me know. My hair is officially 8 inches long and I have now being natural for a year since the level 1 BC lol *dances*)

Bush Babe

(@OnlyIonna)

xo

One thought on “Itchy Scalp! UGH

  1. Pingback: The Curious Case of an Itchy Scalp. | Get your Sizzelle on!

Leave a Reply

